On being an artist and a mother – a conversation

Current blog avatar Will you still need …

A topic near and dear to my heart. I have spent so much time researching the history of women who were also mothers and photographers. I have collected their books and stories to feed my own work. I should write a reply for the blog.

LITTLE BROWN MUSHROOM BLOG

Carrie ThompsonWhen I was pregnant I had a studio visit with Lorna Simpson. She is a mother, so I asked her for advice. I wanted to know what I should do before I have my baby. What would be the challenges for me when I become a mother? She said that since I had been working on two projects dealing with family history, including a trip to Japan that directly preceded my son’s birth, I should write down the narratives of those photos. She said I had to do this before my child was born. She repeated the advice a few times. I didn’t listen. I didn’t write the stories. I should have. When my son was born everything changed. My extra time disappeared. Making work slowed way down. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the challenges of balancing motherhood with a career as an artist. …

View original post 4,554 more words

Leave a Reply

