Green Tomato Relish….recalling the taste

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Retirement has arrived along with the harvest moon. This is the first time since 1979 that I have canned anything from the garden. So I decided to start with the memory of green tomato relish from the Joy of Cooking. I hope it tastes as good as I remember it! Of course, I need to read the recipe more carefully these days…I thought it called for 4 tablespoon of brown sugar. This morning I tasted before I put the relish in the jars and it was a bit tart. Checked the cookbook….. 4 pounds was what it said. On my way to get the sugar!!!

Comments
One Response to “Green Tomato Relish….recalling the taste”
  1. tinadelceg says:

    Oh look at all those beautiful jars! I haven’t made this in years but maybe this is the year. Right now I’m trying to decide what to do with all the asparagus we’re picking. Frozen maybe?

Leave a Reply

