Out of my league

Went to a cocktail party yesterday, a little above my usual social level. Not the same crowd as Green Street. On the 24th floor of an apartment overlooking the East River on a beautiful clear evening. Amazing art (vast understatement) everywhere. Jaw-dropping. I was reminded of the vast differences between the haves and have nots when a very lovely woman asked what I collected. Well, maybe she asked if I had a collection, same difference. I do have a lot of dust bunnies under the bed and a good collection of old, irreplaceable tee-shirts. And a couple of photographs, but no Calder’s, Rothko’s or Roman mosaics. I took no photos. I thought it would be tacky. And that I would be asked to leave.

Leave a Reply

